Promising novelist Simone Beaudelaire and her take on “Twist of Fate”, a global charity anthology

Interviewing Simone Beaudelaire (U.S.A)

Interviewer: Kiriti Sengupta (India)

 

Hi Simone !! Greetings from India, this is Kiriti. I must congratulate and thank you for your contribution in Twist of Fate, a global charity anthology, by Stephen L Wilson. I wish to ask you few things, are you ready ?

Simone: Hi Kiriti !! Please, carry on.

Kiriti: I would like to know first why did you contribute ? What were those compelling factors ?

Simone: I live near the Oklahoma border, and my husband has relatives that live near the tornado site. I was horrified by the devastation, but with a full time job and three kids, I couldn’t just go help. I am glad to have this opportunity.

Kiriti: If I am not wrong, you are a romantic story-teller. Does your contribution deal with romance ?

Simone: No. This was a poem I wrote in college. It was based on a dream I had. It deals with loneliness, isolation, and the inability to connect with others.

Kiriti: What would a poem do to relieve the sufferings of the tornado victims ?

Simone: Well, a tragedy is powerfully isolating. I doubt people derive much comfort in knowing that others have lost friends/family/home. But loneliness IS an aspect of the human experience. It is universal. This is a really tough question. Really, I just wanted to help. I wasn’t sure whether my poem would be accepted, or why it was. I’m just glad to have contributed something.

Kiriti: Apart from your contribution in Twist of Fate, how would you like to publicize the effort ?

Simone: Through Twitter, Facebook, and through my web site.

Kiriti: Do you enjoy an exclusive readership ? I mean, a strong fan-following, being a novelist ?

Simone: I don’t think so. I’ve only been published since April’13, so the only readers I’m really sure about are the members of my beta-reader group.

Kiriti: Please elaborate the role of literature in modern civilization.

Simone: Another tough question. Let me think for a moment. Well, Literature is one of the artistic foundations on which civilization is formed. The ability to create art, including literature, is one of the hallmarks of humanity. All cultures have literary traditions, whether oral or written. It’s hard to imagine Western society (my particular background) being what it is without the contributions of writers from history… starting with oral traditions like Beowulf, which were then recorded in early writing. Moving down to the development of fiction with Chaucer, and then the huge strides made by Shakespeare. And so it continues to this day. These are our links to our history, information about where we come from, who we are, and why. They are our stories, if we take the time to look. I know other cultures have similar traditions, but I’m not as familiar with the names/works.

Kiriti: How many copies of the anthology would you buy personally ?

Simone: I hadn’t thought about it… five?

Kiriti: Five copies, are you sure ?

Simone: Not sure. Just thinking about the people I know who would like a copy. That’s off the top of my head. But my funds are very limited.

 Thank you Simone for answering me, wish you all success !! Keep well.

2 Comments

Filed under Twist of Fate

2 responses to “Promising novelist Simone Beaudelaire and her take on “Twist of Fate”, a global charity anthology

  1. Reblogged this on hülya and commented:
    Dr. Kiriti Sengupta (Calcutta, India), interviewing contributing poets, writers, and artists for the soon-to-be-published global Twist of Fate anthology conceived and materialized by Indies In Action.

  2. Pingback: Twist of Fate- Now Available in eBook Formats | The Artistic Persuasion

Leave a Reply

