The Poet—Mohammad Zahid

Poets are usually unkempt, but not to the extent of keeping their beds undone! Here I got a poet, who preferred not to touch his bed linen and his pillow cover that has absorbed his dreams, sweet or no-sweet. The poet believed in the substantivity of the cloth (Ref: The Unmade Bed, page no. 86) that would give back “the dreams that lie in its folds.” I’m talking about Mohammad Zahid, a talented poet from Jammu & Kashmir, who has overwhelmed his readers with his first poetry title “The Pheromone Trail.” Zahid, I think, prefers self-analysis, a trait that is not commonly found among the poets of our times. He wrote:

“I peep with fear through the window

To see the comedy of life

Let I be a clown myself

I laugh the most untoward laugh

At myself in the mirror…” (Ref: The Play, page no. 82)

 

Life is not all about logic and logical progress. Reasoning falls short when compared to the vast canvas of life. The poet wrote:

“There roams a shadow

That hangs from the corners of reason

Where upon reasons of sanity are questioned

That unreasonably get bogged down

In the quagmires of reason alias Logic

When I say, Why?

………………………………..

Thus I shut the books

To roam in the vast universe of the Maker

And find answers to my questions

Whose reason lies not in the black ink

Sprawled across the cellulose.

There are so many stars around, so no shadows!” (Ref: Reasons, page no. 63)

 

Zahid has revisited his school days for this volume of poetry. Like other children of his age group he too was unhappy with the conventional schooling that was not so student friendly in those days. He wrote:

“My back is burdened

With a bag of boring books

My mind aches, remembering

All yesterday’s lessons

My fingers tax

Writing many a thousand word

My palms await the pain

Of thrashes of the cruel cane.”  (Ref: On Way To School, page no: 58)

 

The poetry is the only religion of a true poet! Zahid has proved me right as I read “Pagli.” This poem, as the poet has depicted, was written ‘on seeing a sanyasin on the bank of the Holy Ganges.’ Pagli (that denotes a lunatic woman) says about the liberation of the women, who have lost their husbands, otherwise called the widows. Zahid wrote:

“Oh! I am a widow no more

No longer do I wear the white

No longer is my forehead

Bereft of the vermillion

No longer am I weak

No longer am I meek

……………………….

I am a free soul

……………………….

I was married to a man

Now I am not

I am married to my Lord.” (Ref: Pagli, page no. 59)

 

One of the profound poems of “The Pheromone Trail” is ‘The Missing Men Found.’ Here the poet made his readers cry; made his readers cry out loud—an extremely touching poem that elicits the grief, which has originated from the loss of the dear family members, “who rest in the countless unmarked graves.” Zahid wrote:

“They never came back once they left

With promises to come back at night

Bringing smiles for kids, love for wives

And hopes for their parents too.

……………………………………..

Ah they have been found now

Sleeping peacefully in their secret graves

Bullet ridden, decapitated, defaced

Winning shame for their killers

And colours too for killing them in cold blood.” (Ref: The Missing Men Found, page no. 78)

 

“The Pheromone Trail” palpates like a live vessel that carries blood into our hearts. Mohammad Zahid has successfully played with his words, gently, but steadily. I can easily say that this book will be cherished by a large section of readers of English literature. Although this volume of poetry deserved professional editing, I will strongly recommend this book to all those, who believe in the rhythm of our livelihood!

 

Title: The Pheromone Trail

Author: Mohammad Zahid

Publisher: Cyberwit.net

ISBN: 9788182534346

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Poet, Poetry, Reviews, Spiritual

Leave a Reply

